The Camp Riverbend Chef’s Corner Recipes

My name is Melanie, and I have had the privilege of working with the children of Camp Riverbend in Chef’s Corner, previously known as Passport, for the past 3 years. I know that the recipes go home at the end of the week in the Riverbender and I hope that you have all been enjoying them. I have to tell you, your children are amazing…tasting things they never thought they would, and really wanting to learn how to cook. They have asked interesting and thoughtful questions about food, cooking, and well, every topic that I could imagine, and some I could not have!  

I want to share with you the recipes that I made this past summer and I will include some pictures and some of the things I learned from making each recipe 25+ times a week! I did share the recipes last summer, as well, on this blog, but you were getting them at the same time in the Riverbender newsletter.  I thought that maybe you can read this with your children, and they will be reminded, visually, of what they tried this past summer.  Hopefully then you can try them together!  As a mom, and now as the Chef’s Corner counselor, I have really seen that children are more likely to try something new when they have a vested interest in it.  When they help plan for it, shop for the ingredients, and prepare it, you might be surprised at what your child is willing to try.  I know I was!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

